Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Washing Greens
Posted by: jethan2010 ()
Date: April 20, 2011 01:18AM

Hey all, I'm new here (well, I was here years ago, but I'm a born-again newbie.) Anyway, I was wondering what is the best way to wash greens--I couldn't find any answers in the search. I bought some kale to juice today, but they didn't have any organic, just conventional, and I'd like to figure out how to get off as much pesticides as possible. I found an article online about adding a small amount of bleach to the water to kill pests that might be there, but that seems to be getting away from the whole point of 'organic.' Help, please? Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Washing Greens
Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: April 20, 2011 03:23AM

i use a bit of food grade hydrogen peroxide in the water for my fruits and veggies wash

ick id never use bleach grinning smiley

...Jodi, the banana eating buddhist

Date: April 20, 2011 04:27PM

about an 1/8th of a cup (you will have to check the dilution levels for whatever food grade peroxide you get) and soak them in a full sink for 15-20 min smiling smiley

Posted by: powerlifer ()
Date: April 20, 2011 06:47PM

I use my water ozonater to wash the more problematic greens such as watercress which often harbors parasites.

Posted by: flipperjan ()
Date: April 20, 2011 09:11PM

for goodness sake - just rinse under the tap - don't add any more junk to the load!!!

p.s we have good water in the uk (countryside)

Posted by: jethan2010 ()
Date: April 20, 2011 09:30PM