Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Let's talk about Brix
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: January 28, 2012 05:10AM

This is an issue that every raw foodist, whether carnivore or vegan, needs to be aware of. Take a look at this link:

[crossroads.ws]

This is the single most important thing about diet, other than the rawness of your food.

I've been using my Brix meter for about 6 years now, and I have definitely noticed benefits to my health from avoiding low-Brix produce.

I really wish the raw gurus would emphasize this. It makes an enormous difference.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Let's talk about Brix
Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: January 28, 2012 02:23PM

This is interesting, and people have posted on this before. Raw foods gurus probably don't recommend it because it's impractical for most people. Most of us aren't[can't] stop eating the fruits and vegetables available to us, perhaps with no alternative sources, because they don't "score" as high as the charts would recommend they do. It is something to think about if one is growing all of one's own food, certainly.

I wonder if John Kohler uses a Brix meter?

Date: January 29, 2012 01:26AM

I believe that everyone would benefit from owning a 'brix' refractometer. They're cheap and accurate. And yes Tamukha, most of us don't really need a brix, cause of the points you've mentioned. But I bet your local market gardener owns one... The fellow at our farmers market used one to see if the ground he's using is of the best quality for growing such'n'such.