Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

newbie, 7 days into the diet and I'm feeling sick. Any help?
Posted by: vaseadude ()
Date: March 21, 2013 01:35PM

Hi there,

7 days ago I've introduced more raw foods into my diet (50%) and I've also started drinking green smoothies, once or twice a day.

Last couple of days I've been sleeping less, and had alternating anergy levels. On day 7, yesterday, I've had some bad diarrhea at night, and today I am feeling sick, with dry mouth and minor headache and low energy.

I dont know could this be a detox effect from introducing raw foods? I am totally new to this diet, I was inspired by watching the video RAW FOR LIFE and decided to add some changes. Also I suspect maybe I could have had food poisoning from sauerkraut that I ate yesterday. Another suspicion is that adding more raw foods could have interfered with the antipsychotic medication I am taking ( that I have been tapering for a year).

Please help figuring this out, if you could. I am thinking of reseting my diet to before.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: newbie, 7 days into the diet and I'm feeling sick. Any help?
Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: March 21, 2013 01:48PM

I don't think 50% of calories from raw food would cause a detox - though a change in diet to increase fiber intake could result in diarrhea (or it could be food poisoning). Probably depends on how high or low fiber your diet was prior. smiling smiley

Posted by: Panchito ()
Date: March 21, 2013 01:53PM