Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Omega 3
Posted by: lotusblossom9 ()
Date: September 13, 2007 01:24PM

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading about the importance of Omega 3 fatty acids and DHA/EPA. I'm trying to get pregnant so I want to make sure I'm getting enough of what I need. Is there an established daily recommended intake of Omega 3's? Also, what do people eat for DHA/EPA? I'm new to this subject so any help would be appreciated.

Lotusblossom

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Omega 3
Posted by: rawnora ()
Date: September 13, 2007 03:28PM

Although you'll encounter many people who have made a hobby out of knowing which foods contain which nutrients, it is not important to have this information nor to make sure you "get enough" of any particular nutrient. All that is necessary is to stop eating the foods that create disease (i.e., the conventional western diet) and replace them with foods that come directly from nature and which appeal to your senses.

Happy transitioning,
Nora
www.RawSchool.com

Posted by: lotusblossom9 ()
Date: September 13, 2007 09:36PM

Thank you Nora for your advice.

Does anyone else have any suggestions?

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: September 13, 2007 09:46PM

Walnuts & Flaxseeds both have an excellent Omega-3 balance. Either can be conveniently added to most things you eat.

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Posted by: fuzzysox ()
Date: September 13, 2007 10:12PM

u can get veggitarian dha from udos oils

Posted by: m ()
Date: September 13, 2007 10:12PM

i guess i'm one of those people that have made a hobby out of knowing what foods have nutrients....since i'm a registered dietitian. smiling smiley