Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Is it possible for me to be vegetarian/vegan/raw foodist?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: November 13, 2007 02:12AM

Hi,

I'm new to the concept of raw foodism, but have faced issues with being vegetarian and vegan in the past.

I am very allergic to nuts and legumes. This includes soy, which is a staple amongst my vegetarian friends.

I've always assumed that I cannot be vegetarian/vegan due to the lack of an extra protein source, but was wondering if anybody had any input. To help with my impact, I do eat organic foods right now, and the meat and dairy products I buy are organic, hormone-free, and the meat comes from free-range animals and my eggs from cage-free chickens.

Thanks for any feedback!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Is it possible for me to be vegetarian/vegan/raw foodist?
Posted by: GypsyArdor ()
Date: November 13, 2007 02:59AM

Can you eat seeds (pumpkin, sesame, etc.)?

Date: November 13, 2007 03:10AM

yes, I can eat seeds.

Posted by: karriebean ()
Date: November 13, 2007 03:11AM

spirulina i believe is a great source of protein.

~karriebean

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: November 13, 2007 03:29AM

Seeds - such as hemp seeds...can be a great source of protein. Of course...I have YET to see a non-disordered American have protein deficiency! smiling smiley

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Date: November 13, 2007 03:39AM

The only complete protein that I've been told about is quinoa...would I be able to have a fairly active (and culinary versatile winking smiley ) lifestyle with seeds, quinoa, and spirulina? sorry for so many questions...but thanks so much for your feedback!

Posted by: blue_sky ()
Date: November 13, 2007 03:43AM

Hi ifoundkristina,