Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

still craving sugar - what should I do?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: April 08, 2008 04:36PM

I'm new to raw foods - about a month now. Don't have any blood sugar/health problems, but CRAVE (organic/vegan) cookies and sweets. I know I could eat dates and other dried fruits, etc., but am having a hard time. Any suggestions please?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: still craving sugar - what should I do?
Date: April 08, 2008 04:47PM

This might sound pretty drastic,but maybe do some aversion techniques.
Things like picturing the cookies on a plate full of worms and dead flies.
I have heard it works alot.
I experienced this first hand when I was a kid and went fishing.
I could not bring myself to eat the fish my mother served after seeing it caught, cleaned, and how gross it was.
Just an idea.
Brian

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: April 08, 2008 05:39PM

You can find raw food substitutes....and make slower changes....or go ahead and eat the 'transitional' foods and be OK with that. The important part is that YOU have chosen YOUR goals and are moving towards them...in some part...every day. Don't you think?

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Date: April 08, 2008 05:55PM

dried fruit saves my chocolate lovin' butt, seriously. a big fat sticky chewy medjool date on it's own or with a nut stuffed inside is an incredibly satisfying sweet treat. amazingly enough just one is all i want most of the time, more than a couple doesn't appeal.

Posted by: pampam ()
Date: April 08, 2008 05:57PM

one suggestion is to check out your nutrition level. Are you getting enough nutrition in what you are eating? Perhaps you are lacking something that is causing the craving.