Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

How do you clean a mason jar?
Posted by: fruitylou ()
Date: September 13, 2010 09:27PM

I've been using this mason jar for green smoothies for almost 3 years now and it has a brownish tint that doesn't scrub off. How do I get it back to a crystal clear state?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: How do you clean a mason jar?
Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: September 13, 2010 09:42PM

Wow, well, they are designed for canning, so you could put it in a large stockpot filled with cold water, bring it slowly to a boil, and simmer it for as long as it takes to remove accumulated scum. And don't let it get to that point again, mind!

Posted by: swimmer ()
Date: September 13, 2010 10:21PM

An isopropyl alcohol and salt mixture is one of the best glass cleaners for non-optical glass.

Pour in a small amount alcohol, add some salt, swish it around some. Then wipe with a rag or sponge. Scrub with a small brush if needed. Finally, clean as you normally would to remove the salt. Works great to remove film that detergents or glass cleaners leave behind. Great for vases, glass lights, glass dish ware, smoke and vapor ware, pretty much any glass so long as it is not optical.

Posted by: banana who ()
Date: September 13, 2010 10:44PM

I use bleach sometimes for stains on plastic and I imagine that glass would also become clear with bleach. I realize that some people may not like to use bleach for environmental reasons, but I reserve it for removing stains that I can't seem to with other substances. I initially thought you meant reaching into the mason jar and I found a nifty sponge with a handle that works well in jars.

Posted by: juicerkatz ()
Date: September 13, 2010 11:06PM