Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

brand new to all this, got some questions!
Posted by: evolve ()
Date: June 15, 2009 02:27PM

Howdy all! I am very new to even the concept of a raw foods diet, but am also very intrigued by it. There is one question that is really bugging me, and please forgive me if I am showing my ignorance here, or if this question has been answered elsewhere on the site, but how on earth do you get enough protein in your diet eating in this way? I admit that I am biased because I have been in and out of a body-building lifestyle/diet for a few years, and that sort of diet requires large amounts of protein. I can see enormous benefits from the raw approach, but I would think that to do it properly, there would not be any practical way to be a bodybuilder at the same time? Sorry if my vanity is too transparent here, but this question is probably the biggest impediment to me going on this sort of diet. Thanks for any feedback.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: brand new to all this, got some questions!
Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: June 15, 2009 03:22PM

All foods have protein in them.

You need to do weight resistance exercises to build and maintain muscle, along with enough fuel for your body to build itself.

Fruit is a good start, along with greens.

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 15, 2009 06:00PM

I'd refer you to the Vegan Bodybuilding website & forum...they have a lot of experience with vegan sources of protein and muscle aiding foods. It's really more important to exercise consistently and do lots of weight training to define your muscles, rather than eat copious amounts of protein. Too much protein is very taxing on your body, anyway.