Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Sea Veggies
Posted by: tdquigley ()
Date: April 10, 2010 09:37PM

Hi all,
Interested to know what you thing of sea vegetables and how often you incorporate them in to your diets. I am relatively new to raw and right now my diet consists primarily of seaweed! I am trying to eat more leafy greens as you have suggested but I wonder how much seaweed everyone eats.
Also, how long do people soak chickpeas before sprouting them for raw hummus?
Thanks so much,

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Sea Veggies
Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: April 10, 2010 10:11PM

Eh, when you say your diet consists primarily of seaweed, exactly how much are we talkin'? I eat maybe a dusting of dulse or kelp flakes every few weeks, which is very little.

Date: April 10, 2010 11:00PM

The only seaweed I get regularly is the tiny amounts in my seaweed sea salt. I would like to eat seaweed more but it's pretty expensive and I found it started to ruin my salads with its gumminess!

Date: April 10, 2010 11:17PM

Yeah, kelp can get gummy!

In terms of amount, we're talking about 5 sheets of nori and a healthy portion of hijiki or wakame every day. Too much?!

Posted by: Prana ()
Date: April 10, 2010 11:41PM

There are some problems with seaweed. I think its OK for occasional usage, but everyday might be an issue.