Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

leading a fullfilling life.
Posted by: dvdai ()
Date: April 23, 2010 11:05PM

i find this lifestyle more and more appealing:

[www.idahostatesman.com]

david

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: leading a fullfilling life.
Posted by: banana who ()
Date: April 24, 2010 12:16AM

Fascinating story...It really is important to learn to be self-sufficient. I am a lifelong resident of a suburb who has only grown sprouts successfully. I would like to emulate some of his behaviors.

What really threw me for a loop, though, was the renting out of the caves. How did he advertise--Craigslist? LOL

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: April 29, 2010 02:52PM

I found this man's story profoundly sad. Yes, he was self-sufficient and that's admirable, but he seems to have lived this life out of an impetus to evade humanity. I find the thought of living Mr. Zimmerman's life awfully beguiling. On the other hand, I think the compulsion to fully disconnect should be resisted, or at least moderated so that it doesn't become extreme. There's a fine line between being self-sufficient and being a solipsist--no man is an island. Sorry if this post is a bummer, dvdai : )

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/29/2010 02:52PM by Tamukha.

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: April 29, 2010 03:12PM

I found the story sad too. On more than one level. It's sad that any of us feel the need to disconnect with society. It's sad that we're such a sick culture. It's sad that the values of self sufficiency, tolerable useage of resources and simplicity are so usual that the end up being newsworthy.